top of page

'Kumano Hayatama Taisha' in Shingu City, Wakayama Prefecture, composes 'Kumano Sanzan'.

This Shinto shrine is a component of Kumano Sanzan, three major shrines in Kumano region in Wakayama Prefecture, together with 'Kumano Hongu Taisha' and 'Kumano Nachi Taisha'.

In addition, these three shrines are on the list of the World Heritage as 'Three Major Shrines of Kumano'. As the origin of this shrine is too old to determine academically. It is said that the spirit of this shrine originally was enshrined on the side of a nearby hill called ''Kamikura-yama' though, it was relocated to the present site as shown in the picture. Accordingly, this shrine is also called 'New Shrine'.

Licensed tour guide, travel consultant,

Masahisa Takaki.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page