top of page

The Tateyama mountain range is the northern part of the Hida Mountains, so-called the Northern Alps.

The Tateyama mountain range, which is made up of a group of steep mountains, is an element of Chubu Sangaku National Park. The picture shows the Tateyama mountain range, 2,000-3,000 meters high, from Toyama City. To be more precise, the Ura-Tateyama mountain range stands off behind this mountain range across the Kurobe. These two mountain ranges jointly form a two-blade-like rugged mountain zone. Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine route, a well-known tourist spot, stretches over this area. Many peaks of this area have long been venerated as the objects of worship since time immemorial. Being included in a major volcanic zone in Japan, volcanic activity and a variety of volcanic landforms, such as calderas, plateaus of lava and extinct volcanic craters, are found here. Some glaciers and u-shaped valleys formed by former glaciers are also found here. These glacial landforms are unique to this area in Japan.

Licensed tour guide, travel consultant,

Masahisa Takaki.

全国通訳案内士 高木聖久。


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page