The 5th feudal lord of the Yanagawa domain, the Tachibana clan, built the residence for his family in the castle enclosure in 1738. After the end of samurai years in 1910, the Tachibana clan, holding the title Count, rebuilt all buildings on the same site. The white building in Western style as shown in the first picture is one of those rebuilt buildings. The Japanese garden in the second picture, called Shoto-en, was also improved at the same time. These classic buildings with Japanese garden are open to the public, and the private museum stands in the same ground. The visitors can study how bygone daimyo's daily life was.
Licensed tour guide, travel consultant,