top of page

Catholic Sekiguchi Cathedral, also known as St. Mary's Cathedral,Tokyo, in Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo.

There are three archdioceses in Japan, they are Tokyo, Osaka and Nagasaki. The novel design building in the picture is Catholic Sekiguchi Cathedral, which has jurisdiction over five parishes such as Sapporo, Sendai, Niigata, Saitama and Yokohama. Tokyo archdiocese covers 200 thousand Roman Catholics in Western Japan, boasting Japan's largest archdiocese in terms of the population of devotee. After the foundation in 1900 as a parish church, this became Tokyo Cathedral in 1920. The old building was destroyed in the fire during the Second World War though, it was rebuilt in 1964 thanks to the support of Cologne Cathedral in Germany. Tange Kenzo, one of the leading architects in Japan, designed.

Licensed tour guide, travel consultant,

Masahisa Takaki.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page